Date: Jan 05, 2022Time: 6:00 PM to 7:00 PM

Exclusive: LVMH Inc. Chairman & CEO Anish Melwani on Luxury Retail (virtual)

Wed, 6:00 PM to 7:00 PM Zoom Webinar (Information to be sent to Registrants)
General PublicConsumer/Fashion


In 2016, Anish Melwani was appointed Chairman & CEO of LVMH Inc. to head the North American business of the luxury group.

Upon his appointment, LVMH Chairman and CEO Bernard Arnault noted, “North America is a strategic market for LVMH, with our brands witnessing strong performances. Anish will help us further accelerate growth and explore new development opportunities. Anish will work alongside the global leaders of our businesses leveraging his strategic skills and sharing his deep knowledge of the market.”

Six years later, Anish has successfully navigated a global pandemic that severely affected retail businesses, and he contributed to the successful integration of Tiffany & Co, LVMH’s newest jewel in its ever-expanding portfolio. In addition, Anish has overseen several key projects:
• Creation of Aura Blockchain Consortium in 2021 (with luxury groups Prada Group and Richemont), which allows customers to access product history and verify authenticity of luxury goods
• Launch of a 100,000-square foot Louis Vuitton workshop near Dallas, Texas in 2019
• Opening of Cheval Blanc Beverly Hills (hotel estimated to open in 2024-25)

He also led various acquisitions in LVMH’s wines & spirits division:
• Minority stake in WhistlePig in 2020
• Woodinville Whiskey in 2017
• Majority stake in Colgin Cellars in 2017

Anish took over the reins from Pauline Brown, who the Club also has hosted on multiple occasions. Now, Anish will shed light on his tenure and what the future holds for the luxury business in an exclusive conversation.

Join us for this exciting program as we kick off 2022.

Participants must register by NOON on January 5th to receive details on joining the discussion. The Zoom link will be sent out 24 hours before the event.

Please note that no refunds will be issued.



Anish Melwani

Chairman & CEO, LVMH for North America

Anish Melwani is the Chairman & CEO, LVMH for North America. In this role, he oversees and coordinates the activities of the LVMH Group across 75+ Maisons. He sits on the board of directors for Fresh, Marc Jacobs, Colgin Cellars, Starboard Cruise Services and Tiffany & Co.

Prior to joining LVMH in 2015, he was a Senior Partner in the New York Office of McKinsey and Company where he co-led the Global Strategy & Corporate Finance practice and supported clients across industries. At McKinsey since 1999, he counseled senior executives of leading global companies on issues related to corporate strategy, M&A, alliances, portfolio management and organization. He worked in McKinsey’s Singapore and Hong Kong offices and was then relocated to the New York office, where he advised leaders of public sector institutions in New York City.

Melwani is a member of the Council on Foreign Relations, the Board of the United Way of New York City where he serves on the Marketing Committee, and the National Retail Federation’s Board of Directors. He holds a BA in Economics from Harvard University.


Joanna Stone Herman, MBA 1997

Partner, Oaklins DeSilva+Phillips

Joanna Stone Herman is a Partner at Oaklins DeSilva+Phillips and serves as the TMT Industry Group Co-Head for Oaklins International, our global investment bank with offices in 60 cities across 40 countries. Prior to joining Oaklins DeSilva+Phillips in 2011, Joanna worked in several senior executive roles including as SVP Global Strategy for LexisNexis, EVP of Corporate Development for Thomson Financial Corporate Group, VP of Strategy for Thomson Learning and Director of Strategy for Dow Jones. Joanna also served as CEO and co-Founder of Librify, a technology start-up that was the exclusive e-book platform for Target, sold to Scribd in 2015. Joanna has a B.S. and Masters degrees from MIT and an MBA from HBS.

Date Time

Date: Jan 05, 2022Time: 6:00 PM to 7:00 PM


Zoom Webinar (Information to be sent to Registrants)1460 Broadway
New York, NY 10036
View Map


  • Free / Patron Members (please contact
  • 10 / Member/Member Guest (limit one)
  • 20 / Alumni Non-Members
  • 25 / General Public


Sophia Altholz, Lockie Andrews, Tekla Back, Shawn Bagot, Berna Barshay, Gadi BenMark Markovitch, Nino Bergfeld, Antoine Bernheim, Tristan Bourassin, Maria Brunet, Clinton Buford, Taylor Campbell, Carlos Castelan, Savio Chan, Alexandre Chenesseau, Liyuhe Cheng, Audrey Croci, Ankur Daga, Emel Dilek, Nella Domenici, Brynne Eberhardt, Nir Elperin, Elizabeth Fairfax Brown, Deborah Farrington, Juan-Manuel Fernandez Cortina, Ang Gao, Wendy Gardner, Jean-Marie Gianni, Amy Giarraputo, Joseph Giarraputo, Amy Golden, Joshua Goldstein, Carmen Gota, Shanti Grandhi, Susan Grant, Anmol Gupta, Elaine Henry, Adriana Herrera, Aaron Hill, Margaret Hsu, Helen Huang, Tim Irons, Alexandra Jarislowsky, Samuel Kaplan, Amy Karayannis, Michael Karsch, Joel Kier, Hoonie Kim, Ariana Korman, Priyanka Sen Kundu, Chia-Chien Kuo, Young Eun Lee, Stephen Levitan, Sergio Leymarie, Douglas Libby, Cheryl Linton, Jacqueline Loken, Lance Lundberg, Alison Lyness, Subita Mahtani, Sunil Mahtani, Eduardo R Marquez, Kimberly Marshall , John McLaughlin, Dede McMahon, Sanam Mechkat, Bruno Medeiros, Amit Melwani, Ashok Melwani, Michael Meyer, Valerie Meyer, Christine Miller, Christine Miller, Jessica Miller, Jennifer Mitchell, Neil Mitchell, Pedro Mont Wong, Barrie Moskowitz, Robin Nash Klein, Arndt Nicklisch, William Noe, Margaret Nyamumbo, Benjamen Ober, Pauline Papathomas, Alfredo Paredes, Anand Pathuri, Hilary Peck, Margaret Pederson, Dennis Pemberton, Jill Pemberton, Rafaela Peslerbe, Robert Puopolo, Sergio Rattner, Jemine Rewane, Nicole Reznic, Carolina Richards, Susan Runne, ANN STEELE, Sumit Saigal, Abdus Salam, Lidia Salgado, Sunil Sani, Suresh Sani, Phillip Schaeffer, Sara Schaeffer, Roshan Shah, Vimal Shah, Miranda Shen, Mimi Sheng, Jim Simmons, Peter Siris, Christopher Smith, Blake Sonnenshein, Jacqualine Spence, Anne Stanton, Isabel Sternlieb, William Stutt, Alex Szulc, James Tieng, David Tracy, Ariel Troy, Tayfun Uner, Jinny Uppal, Siby Vadakekkara, Suman Veeramalla, Vinton Vickers, Jennifer Volk, Zubin Wadia, Pallavi Wagle, Emelil Walter, Frank Walter, Jiayi Wen, Andrea Werbel, Leslie Wohlman-Himmel, Susan Wojewoda, Barbara Wyckoff Siris, Meilin Xiao, Meredith Yasek, Jiexian Zang, Mark Zashin, Min Zhang, Liliane Zreik, robin albin, JC de Swaan, jingjing zhang


Barrie Moskowitz & Lockie Andrews

Zoom Webinar (Information to be sent to Registrants)

1460 Broadway, New York, NY, 10036