The Club's success is directly attributed to the contributions of its volunteers. To recognize their engagement, the Club hosts an annual party to honor outstanding individuals as Volunteers of the Year and celebrate the work of ALL of our volunteers.  We couldn't do what we do without them!

Location:  Company
Date: 6/7/2023

Click here to see the photos of the 2023 volunteer event. (Photos by Julia Discenza Photography)

Click here to see the names of this year's alumni volunteers.

2023 Volunteer of the Year Awardees

  • Herb KaplanMBA '65

    Herb, since stepping into the role of co-chair of the Daytime Programming Committee, along with Bill Rosser, you’ve changed the sector title from the “Seniors Division” to “Daytime Programming” broadening its appeal. Thank you for spearheading the monthly Brown Bag Lunch events, monthly meetings, researching topics, providing content and guiding discussions for 20 events each year.  The Daytime Programming Committee is deeply grateful for your dedication!

  • James ShermanMBA '91

    Jim, as co-chair for External Relations for HBS Alumni Angels of Greater NY, you were instrumental in rebuilding our Startup Showcase series through the pandemic.  You put together events to build our startup pipeline and extend our brand franchise with partners including Harvard Innovation Lab, Harvard Alumni Entrepreneurs, HBS Women’s Association of NY, Princeton Entrepreneurs, and the Marathon Fund (Underrepresented Founders). Alumni Angels thanks you for your tireless efforts!

  • Cornelius MarxMBA '67

    Corny, thank you for your multiple Board leadership roles–Chair of the Governance/Nominating Committee, Chair of a committee granting scholarships to HBS for Nonprofit executives, and Co-chair of the Education Committee of Community Partners. We in the Social Enterprise Division are stronger because of you!

2023 Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient

(L-R) Debra Farrington, Richard Kane, Clare Peeters

At the Club’s March Board of Directors meeting, Debra Farrington, HBSCNY Board Chair, presented the inaugural Lifetime Achievement Award to Richard Kane, MBA ’68.  She spoke about his accomplishments, leadership, “vigor, innovation, and courage.” She noted that his efforts led to new paths that are lasting for the Club and life changing for members of the community we serve. Richard addressed meeting attendees. He gave thanks and spoke of his admiration for the Club and for the ways Volunteers have leveraged the “immense value of the HBS brand to serve the community.”

2023 Special Recognition

(L-R) Clare Peeters, Leonard Polaner



Club President, Clare Peeters, recognized Len Polaner, MBA ’54, and the many contributions he has made to the Club, including the creation of the Senior Programming Committee which successfully engages, in service and lifelong learning, many members who would not otherwise be involved.  Clare noted that Len’s leadership and the Senior Programming Committee are models for other Clubs.

Past Award Recipients


Yasmin Imbrahim, MBA ’07
Trevor Bond, MBA ’89
Kathy Wolf, MBA ’95
Mansoor Basha, GMP ’12


Charley Beever, MBA ’78
Sharon Joseph, GMP ’16
Bill Meurer, MBA 90
Kathy Murray, AMP ’93
Mauri Rosenthal, MBA ’81


Margaret Brown, MBA ’84
Jill Patel,  MBA ’79


Sharjeel Kashmir, PLDA ’07
Peter Siris, MBA ’68


Jessica Ziegler, MBA ’84
Ava Zydor,  MBA ’84


Vineet Kumar, AMP 187
Krista Nylen, MBA ’13


Barry Puritz, MBA ’65